Advanced search

New PTS Stud HiLo AutoRate rules - Please comment

Discuss PokerTracker, GT+, PokerAce and Others

Moderators: excession, LPF Police Department

New PTS Stud HiLo AutoRate rules - Please comment

Postby Alien » Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:25 am

Hi All,

I originally posted this on the PT Stud forum, and hope no one minds me cross-posting it here. All comments welcome (preferably not rude ones, as I'm a newbie !! 8-) )

Reason for the post, is that I’ve been using PTS for a month or so now and have been working on some new Auto Rate rules for Stud HiLo (they may work for Stud as well, but I’m concentrating on HiLo, as it’s what I play). I’d love to get some feedback from people as to what they think, especially since some of the “middle of the road” players aren’t easily classifiable (unlike in Hold Em for example, where putting people into distinct categories is a lot more straightforward)

My criteria when playing Stud HiLo is fairly simple though. I need to know 2 things as soon as possible (preferably within 30 hands, which is when I set PTS to AutoRate).

1) Who to target (ie, the Fish and Calling stations) and
2) Who to avoid (the Rocks, and Eagle type players)

The two criteria I’ve concentrated on are V$iP and W$@SD.

With the V$iP I broke it down into 5 categories : Very Tight (under 20), Tight (20 - 30), Semi Loose (30 - 45), Loose (45 - 70) and Very Loose (over 70) - Note these classifications are at odds with the ones you’d typically use for HoldEm, as, since there are 3 starting cards not 2, there are a wider range of starting hands you could (although not necessarily should) play. In HoldEm, if you’re playing more than about 30% of the hands, you’re toast real quick.

With the W$@SD they fell into 4 main categories : Bad (under 45), Fair (45-60), Good (60-70) , and Very Good (over 70)